top of page

Good news to share!

May 2, 2021


It's been awhile since I posted here. I have another website where I try to write something every once in awhile, but truthfully, after the pandemic set in, I didn't feel like posting. The pandemic didn't stop me from writing, as I continued to write stories and submit., but it did make me pause on writing blogs. I just felt like I didn't have much to say, with the world in turmoil.


This year will be hopefully better. I received both my Moderna vaccinations, one in January, and the second in February, and now I feel hopeful that life will soon return to normal. My heart and prayers go to out to those who became sick or died. My niece, who has an autoimmune disease, had corvid, then corvid pneumonia and was very sick, and I'm thankful she is on the mend.


With all the sadness and sickness in the world, it seems strange that good things happened, too. I'd like to share my good news, that started in April of this year.

April proved to be an amazing month. My biggest news is a publisher wants to publish three of my picture book manuscripts! Young Dragons Press's editor, Clarissa Willis, offered me on contract on April 5th for a story I submitted April 1st. We met on zoom and discussed other works I have, and she choose three for me to submit. Of those three, she picked two. On April 13th, I signed a contract for three PBs with release dates starting in 2023.

I submitted to #PBTrain Party a query letter and manuscript for a contest. I did not win, but my story, DIVA ZEBRA, was selected as one of many that came close.

FOX'S FOLLY, my Spring Fling Kidlit Contest entry, did not win, but it was one of many given honorable mention. Kaitlynn Sanchez, one of the organizers for this contest said this on twitter about my entry: "Yes yes yes! We just adored this one, such a cool vibe and beautiful lesson, drew us in for sure, keep sharing your talent: we're excited to see where you go next!" Her encouraging words made my day.

Last month, I entered Vivian Kirkfield's #50 Precious Words Contest with my story, RAIN. It did not win, but Vivian told me this on twitter after I told her how much I enjoyed entering the contest: "I'm so glad, Debra. Thank you for being brave and entering. And just to let you know, RAIN was a favorite of one of the judges! I love that you enjoyed participating - connecting and interacting with this incredible #kidlit community is a prize in itself." I thought it was so kind of her to share that information with me.

Author Lori Degman encouraged me to nudge her editor about a rhyming picture book I sent last September. It's one Lori read and found nothing to critique. She said to send it to her editor, that she would love it. I hope she's right.

I also nudged the art director who liked another of my PBs enough to pass it on to his editor last December. The publishing world moves slow, so I hope a small nudge won't count against me.

At the last moment, I decided to enter the Astra International PB Contest. The deadline was April 30, and I submitted my story April 24th.

Because I am now under contract with a traditional publisher, I withdrew my applications for the Karen Cushman Award, and the Ann Whitford Paul Award Contest. I'm still eligible for the Work-in-Progress grant as that is not one of my stories under contract, but with so many wonderful submissions for this grant, I don't expect to win.

Also in April, I won a PB critique on #PBChat with Hannah Barnaby. I sent one of my detective stories from my series of 3, and Hannah gave me excellent advice. I also received some top notch suggestions from my critique group.

The following week on #PBChat, I won a picture book by Tammi Sauer, NOT NOW, COW.

With all this good news, one can easily understand why I consider April a lucky month.

It's now May, and I'm looking forward to my SCBWI-IL network's meeting on Monday, May 3rd. My writers group, The Springfield Scribes, is hosting award-winning author Michelle Schaub. Michelle is giving a presentation on poetry. A grant from SCBWI-IL pays her fee. For that I am very grateful, as is everyone in my writers group. This meeting is free and open to all who register. At last 70 people are expected to attend our zoom meeting!

The SCBWI is offering free webinars again starting in May. I enjoy those a lot. I also continue to enjoy Tuesday nights' Kidlit Distancing Social, and Sarah Aronson's SCBWI-IL monthly zoom chat. I continue to learn my craft and improve my writing, thanks to these wonderful opportunities.

Also, the kidlit community is outstanding. The encouragement, suggestions, help and congratulations I receive from various social media outlets is unbelievable. Writers and illustrators support each other.

My heart is filled with gratitude for all the opportunities opening up to me. My advice is to never give up. Keep on writing, and your time will come, too.


And I pray that Corvid will cease to be the word of the day. I pray that the vaccines work to keep people out of the hospital, off the respirators and keep them from dying. I'm looking forward to a world when one can hug a grandparent and not be afraid of making them sick. A world where eating inside a restaurant becomes normal again. A world where children can attend school in person and adults can rejoin the workforce.


And finally, I hope when my books are released into the world, I will be able to do book signings and school visits, and meet with the public.


Pictured below is Scribbles, the mascot for the publishing company, Young Dragons Press. They are publishing 3 of my picture books with release dates starting in 2023.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page