top of page

Halloween Writing Contests - Scary & Fun

This is my 100 word story for Susanna Leonard Hill's 9th Annual Halloweensie Contest. It's scary & fun.

A HALLOWEEN TRICK

by Debra Daugherty

It’s Halloween. I knock on the door of a spooky old house. It opens, and I enter.

“Ugg! Cobwebs!” I brush them aside.

A foul-smelling witch stirs a bubbling potion in a large, black kettle.

“Taste my brew,” she says.

I swallow a tiny swig and gag.

“Yuck! Sour lemonade.”

The witch cackles. “I have no treats, so I tricked you.”

“I’m supposed to trick you.”

She points a bony finger at me. “Fool! I’ll turn you into a toad.”

I tip over her kettle and run.

My eyelids flutter open. “Phew! Only a dream. Croak.”

Buzzzz. Buzzzz.

Slurp!

“Delicious.”

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page